A Series of Unfortunate Events

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Author: Lemony Snicket

Publication Dates (Start to Finish): 1999-2006

“A Series of Unfortunate Events” engages readers, especially from the teen ages, in a world of sorrow and misfortune. It tells the story of three orphan children, the Baudelaires: Violet, Klaus and Sunny, and the lives that they take on once their parents die in a freak accident. The book series consists of 13 books, each one relating to the previous one in the telling of the adventures the Baudelaires experience. The story’s progression is also realized by sending the orphans to a new family in each book.

The series starts with the first book named The Bad Beginning. The Baudelaires are told of their parents’ death and are immediately taken to live with their new guardian, Count Olaf. [spoiler] However, they soon find out that this guardian of theirs is only after the fortune that their parents left behind. After a failed escape attempt, the Count begins to set in motion a master plan that would secure the fortune solely to him. The Baudelaires are then forced to do their best to get away,[end spoiler] which sets the scene for the rest of the series to begin. 

If you are looking for a relaxing but intense book series to read up on before indulging in more schoolwork, I highly recommend “A Series of Unfortunate Events”.